Take Driver Education Online or or by Home Study Driver Ed Course via Mail

Cal-Driver-Ed.Com

Home Study Driver Education Class

A service of Pacific High School. We offer information about online driver education and home study correspondence driver ed courses that satisfy the driver education requirements for students to obtain a DMV learners permit and drivers license.
               To easily find this site again, hit Ctrl+D, or drag this link: Cal-Driver-Ed to your Favorites.

dmv home study Driver ed online: no classrooms

Texas implemented a Parent Taught Driver Education Program on April 1, 1997.

The Parent Taught Driver Education Program requires students to acquire the essential knowledge, skills and experience to perform reduced-risk practices in the total traffic environment.

To achieve this goal, students are required to master the following elements: applicable Texas traffic laws, rules and procedures for operating and owning an automobile; benefits of occupant protections, use of a space management systems; factors and behaviors that effect driver performance including alcohol and other drugs; and protection of Texas natural resources, including litter prevention.

The Parent Taught Driver Education Program is available to teenagers between the ages of 14 and 17. However, before the instructor (parent, stepparent, grandparent, step-grandparent, or legal guardian) begins teaching this course, the instructor must have a valid TEXAS driver license. Active Military US military personnel and their spouse may participate as instructors if they hold a valid license from their state of permanent residence or last duty station.

The instructor cannot have a conviction (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide or driving while intoxicated. The instructor's license may not be suspended, revoked, or forfeited in the past three years for traffic related violations. Furthermore, the instructor may not be disabled due to mental illness. Questions as to mental stability will be forwarded to the Medical Advisory Board for determination.

It is the responsibility of the instructor to check both their criminal and driver records prior to requesting the packet. The Department will not check the instructor's record until issuance of the instruction permit to the student. If at that time it is determined that the instructor has a prohibited conviction the instruction permit will be denied and all prior classroom instruction credit is invalid.

In order to apply for a Parent Taught Driver Education Program, you must complete the DL-92 - Request Form and submit with a $20.00 non-refundable fee (check or money order only) to: Texas Department of Public Safety, License Issuance Bureau, P.O. Box 15999, Austin, Texas 78761-5999. An additional Request Form and $20.00 non-refundable fee are required for each student who will be participating in the Parent Taught Driver Education Program. Please allow 2 - 3 weeks for delivery.
The Request Form must be completely filled out with original signatures or the process will be delayed.

Upon receipt of your Request Form, a DE-964 Certificate will be assigned to the student and forwarded to the designated Driver License Office where the student will apply for the license and take the required tests. The DE-964 Certificate will be maintained and available at the designated Driver License office for the instructor to complete. The Parent Taught Driver Education packet will be mailed to the instructor's address.

THE STATE ADOPTED TEXTBOOKS ARE NO LONGER REQUIRED

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ'S)

What is the difference between the Classroom methods, block and concurrent?
The entire program consists of a minimum of 32 hours classroom instruction; 7 hours behind-the-wheel instruction and 7 hours in-car practice. The options for teaching all or portions of the program are detailed below:

Block Method:The student completes all 32 hours of classroom instruction of the program. The student is then eligible to test for an Instruction Permit. The student must obtain an Instruction Permit prior to advancing to the 14 hours of behind-the-wheel and in-car practice.

Concurrent Method:
The student is required to complete a minimum of 6 hours of the classroom instructions, contained in Module One, "Texas Driver Responsibilities - Knowing Texas Traffic Laws." An overview of this information is provided in the Parent Taught Driver Education packet.

After completion of this portion of the classroom instruction, the student is then eligible to test for the Texas Instruction Permit and begin the 14 hours of driver training. The remaining 26 hours of classroom instruction are completed simultaneously with the behind-the-wheel and in-car practice.

If a student selects the concurrent method but wishes to transfer to or from the Parent Taught Program or a TEA approved driving training school, all 32 hours of classroom instruction must be completed prior to any behind the wheel instruction. No hours of instruction (classroom or behind -the- wheel) may be transferred between the Parent Taught Program and a TEA approved driving training school.

Why are there different course numbers?
(Course 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, and 107)?

Model Program Course - 101 The Model Program Course is the State approved curriculum for driver education programs in public and licensed schools developed by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). This program replaces the state adopted driver education textbook, which is no longer required. The Model Program Course package entitled the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Master Curriculum Guide, includes 10 modules with over 1,600 pages of sample classroom and behind the wheel lesson plans, support materials, worksheets, exams, instructor activities, fact sheets, student worksheets, transparency masters, in-car lessons, resources, evaluations, and parent involvement support. The Model Program Course is available FREE for use by schools, teachers, and parent taught instructors ONLINE or can be ordered in print or on a CD-ROM for a fee from the Texas Education Agency. For instructions on using or ordering the Model Program Course for Parent Taught Driver Education (course 101) open the internet and go to http://www.tea.state.tx.us/safedriver/parent101.html or contact TEA at 512/463-9322. If an instructor chooses to utilize this course they are responsible for developing the curriculum and lesson plan. This would include obtaining course materials.

Program Course - 102 is offered by National Driver Training Institute and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an application for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 102 has received approval from the Department for the use of a computer based training version provided on CD ROM or their textbook "Help for the Teenager Who Wants to Drive." In addition, you must contact the National Driver Training Institute at 1-800-942-2050. There may be additional costs associated with this program. For additional information about this program open the Internet and go to http://www.GraduatedDriverLicensing.com

Program Course - 103 is offered by Driver Ed in a Box and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an applicatin for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 103 has received approval from the Department for the use of a computer based training version provided on CD ROM or their textbook "Driver Ed in a Box, The Textbook." In addition, you must contact Driver Education Supplies and Training at 1-800-562-6405. There may be additional costs associated with this program. For additional information about this program open the Internet and go to http:\\www.driveredinabox.com

Program Course - 104 is offered by Curb Buster and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an application for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 104 has received approval from the Department for the use of their textbook "Drive Right." In addition, you must contact Curb Busters at 1-866-526-9484. There may be additional costs associated with this program. For additional information about this program open the Internet and go to http:\\www.claryfoundation.org

Program Course - 105 is offered by Driver Ed at Home and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an application for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 105 has received approval from the Department for the use of their textbook "Responsible Driving." In addition, you must contact Driver Ed at Home at 1-713-227-4409. There may be additional costs associated with this program.

Program Course - 106 is offered by Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an application for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 106 has received approval from the Department for the use of their textbook "Texas Traffic Safety Education Student Manual." In addition, you must contact Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association at 1-936-435-8324. There may be additional costs associated with this program. For additional information about this program open the Internet and send an email to tgilber@esc6.net

Program Course - 107 is offered by Virtual Drive of Texas and has been approved by the Department. In order to instruct from this course, an application for the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Program is required. Course - 107 has received approval from the Department for the use of computer based training version provided on CD ROM "Virtual Drive of Texas." In addition, you must contact Virtual Drive of Texas at 1-806-570-6423. There may be additional costs associated with this program. For additional information about this program open the Internet and go to http:\\www.virtualdriveoftexas.com

If using the Parent Taught Driver Education Program, can I receive a discount from my automobile insurance company?
Depending upon the insurance company, this program may or may not qualify for a discount for automobile insurance purposes as determined by the Texas Department of Insurance. Please consult with your insurance carrier concerning this matter.

Can I use film and or videos during my classroom instruction period?Yes, however, no more than 10 hours of video can be counted toward the 32 hours of classroom instruction.

How are the Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log Records utilized?
Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log Records are for the instructor's use only. You will enter the date of completion after the required hours for each specified unit title and driving time. These record logs are for instructor use. You may be required to present this form as proof you have completed all objectives outlined in the Parent Taught Education Program.

Forms to take to the Driver License Office upon completion of the required classroom hours and to obtain an Instruction Permit:

1. Application for Texas Driver License, DL-14A
2. Parental Driver Education Affidavit, DL-90A
3. Classroom Instruction Record, DL-91A (You may be required to present this form as proof you have completed all objectives outlined in the Parent Taught Education Program)
4. Pay the required fee for Instruction Permit Issuance
5. Proof of Liability Insurance (If you own the vehicle)
6. Proof of identity
7. Proof of Social Security Number
8. Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form in school (TEA form GEA-043R93).

In order to obtain an unrestricted driver license, the following documents must be presented upon returning to the Driver License Office.

1. Instruction Permit
2. Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form in school (TEA form GEA-043R93).
3. Parental Driver Education Affidavit, DL-90B
4. Classroom Instruction and Behind the Wheel Record Log, DL-91A and DL-91B (You may be required to present this form as proof you have completed all objectives outlined in the Parent Taught Education Program)
5. Proof of Liability Insurance (If you own the vehicle)
6. Pay the required fee for Instruction Permit Issuance

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:



A legal guardian is defined as a guardian who has been legally appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction (Power of Attorney is not legally sufficient).

· Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Criminal Negligent Homicide convictions are a permanent entry on the driver record. DWI's are indefinite and therefore, makes the instructor ineligible to teach the student the Parent Taught Driver Education Program.

· The instructor must be present for the issuance of the Texas Instruction Permit or the issuance of the Class C Driver License. If there is more than one instructor teaching this course, the Classroom Instruction-Driver Education Affidavit or the Behind the Wheel-Driver Education Affidavits (DL-90A or DL-90B) are required for each instructor. At least one of the instructors must accompany the student when applying for the Texas Instruction Permit or Class C Driver License; the affidavit for the absent instructor will need to be notarized before coming to the Driver License Office.

· No classroom instruction is permitted prior to receipt of the Parent Taught Driver Education packet. Any instruction prior to that time will not be accepted toward the required instruction time.

· No behind-the-wheel instruction or in-car practice may be permitted until the child has been issued a Texas Instruction Permit. Driving without a license or permit on a public street or highway is a violation of state law. Any behind-the wheel instruction prior to issuance of the Instruction Permit will not be accepted toward the required instruction or practice time.

· The course must be completed prior to the student's eighteenth (18th) birthday to receive credit under this program.

· The student must take a written and vision examination prior to receiving the Texas Driver License Instruction permit. However, the skills (driving) test will be waived for teenagers who complete both classroom and behind-the-wheel portions of a Texas driver education course. The instructor participating in the Parent Taught Driver Education Program has the option to waive the skills (driving) test or require the student to pass the skills (driving) test administered by DPS prior to issuing a Class C driver license.


| FAQ | Site Map 
Copyright © 1999 - 2012
Pacific High School Inc.
All rights reserved.

 

Abilene, Texas
Amarillo, Texas
Arlington, Texas
Austin, Texas
Beaumont, Texas
Brownsville, Texas
Carrollton, Texas
Corpus Christi, Texas
Dallas, Texas
Denton, Texas
El Paso, Texas
Fort Worth, Texas
Garland, Texas
Grand Prairie, Texas
Houston, Texas
Irving, Texas
Katy, Texas
Killeen, Texas
Laredo, Texas
Lubbock, Texas
McAllen, Texas
Mesquite, Texas
Midland, Texas
Mission, Texas
Odessa, Texas
Pasadena, Texas
Plano, Texas
San Angelo, Texas
San Antonio, Texas
Spring, Texas
Sugar Land, Texas
Tyler, Texas
Waco, Texas

  

Our Driver Education Course is Accepted by the California DMV

View Our California DMV Verification Letter

Sample DMV Driver Education Certificate of Completion


California Highway Patrol

"Cal-Driver-Ed is a pioneer in the field of online driver education. Over 80,000 California teenagers have taken their courses and are driving today."

"I recommend Cal-Driver-Ed for home study driver education."


The following quotes are excerpts from a California DMV Study on the Effectiveness of Home-Study Driver Education (PDF) dated April 2003:

"Home-study students performed just as well or better than classroom students ... "

"Home-study courses may also have the additional benefit of increasing parental involvement in their teen's learning process, which has been shown to be an important factor ..."


Already Have Your License?
Looking for a Traffic School?

Traffic School Online

Traffic school will help keep your auto insurance costs lower if you receive a traffic ticket.

Every licensed California Driver must have auto insurance to drive a vehicle in California. Proof of insurance must be provided to the California DMV when you obtain your drivers license (not your learners permit).

Proof of auto insurance must also be provided to DMV when you register or renew the license on a vehicle you own.

   

Cal Driver Ed is proud
to be a member in good
standing of the
Better Business Bureau
of NE California.

Better Business Bureau Member


 




  
Quick Driving Tip:
  

    

Driving School

Driver Education

f 3




Area Codes Served

Driving Schools

California DMV

California DMV





Current Events in the World